Campus Celebrities: Franklin Yu ACA Dancer

IMG_0137

Franklin Yu is a second year studying Materials Engineering. He has danced for five years now, and has spent his two years here at UCLA dancing for ACA Hip Hop. We decided to bring him in for an interview a few weeks ago. Here’s the transcript:

How long have you danced for? Did you like it initially?
I’ve danced for about five years now. I started freshman year of high school, and I haven’t been able to stop since (:

How would you describe your learning curve in dance? What are you trying to work on right now?
A goal I have currently set for my dancing is to be more mobile and to implement more grooves into my choreography. I tend to lean toward isolations a lot, so I feel going in this direction will add another dimension to my dancing.

How has dance carried over to other aspects of how you approach things in your life?
To gain mastery over any aspect of dance requires hours of repetition and practice. In the same way, when I study for midterms/finals, I repeat problems and reread chapters. Also, being involved in dance has taught me that nothing worthwhile is achieved easily, and that if you really want to excel in something, you have to sacrifice something for it, whether it be time, sleep, etc.

Do you have any other hobbies besides dance? If so, do you pursue them with the same intensity?
I basically just study and dance! It’s difficult for me to make time to do anything else.

What is something that you have always wanted to learn to do, but have never had time for?
I’ve always wanted to try archery! Precision and athleticism are two things I value a lot, even outside of dance.

What are your goals for dance in these next few years?
In the next few years, I mainly want to continue reinventing my style and pushing my boundaries. I want my choreography to be recognized in the community as my own, and I hope to teach outside of California some day.

Do you plan to pursue dance after college?
I plan to continue dancing after college; I can’t really see myself without it. However, I don’t intend to make a career out of it. I intend for it to be supplementary to my day job.
Here’s a video of Franklin and his team dancing. He is in the center of the last piece:

Leave a Reply

