Foundations Dancer: Janna Macatangay

11038264_845882018783340_1747252462024439657_o

Janna Macatangay is a member of a new hip hop dance team at UCLA called Foundations. They’re performing WEDNESDAY MARCH 4, 2015 AT 8PM IN THE PALISADES ROOM IN CARNESALE COMMONS! Check em out!

Tell us about Foundations, how did you come across the group?

Foundations Choreography is a hip-hop dance team catered for beginner and intermediate dancers. It’s especially great for those who have never danced a day in their lives, but are still interested in learning (like me)! I saw a Facebook event pages for one of Foundations’ dance workshops and decided to go! When I went, I met Vincent Duong Tang, who’s on the Foundations leadership team. He was really friendly and told me about attending team auditions. The rest is history!

What kind of dance does Foundations focus on most?

They focus mostly on hip-hop. For my dance team’s set, we learned how to do basic body rolling, gliding, waacking, rippling and waving, etc. We even learned a piece that contains some contemporary, which was really fun to learn!

What made you want to take up dancing?

I used to be a huge fan of America’s Best Dance Crew in high school and I loved watching dance videos on YouTube. I always thought they looked so confident and down for anything. But I kept thinking I had two left feet and could never learn how to dance, so I never really pursued it. But this quarter I decided to take off a thousand miles from my comfort zone and try out Foundations.

What is your favorite part about being a member of the group?

Foundations practices has honestly been one of the things I looked forward to going to this quarter. I love that it provides a space for beginner dancers to learn the moves and routines without feeling pressured to automatically get it right the first time. I love how everyone, especially the team directors, is so supportive, understanding, and committed (shout out to Team Take Off and my directors, Sammy Amos and Kevin Yeh!!) When you dance with people who share similar dance levels as you do for hours at a time, it’s hard not to get great vibes and get close with them. Honestly, when I’m with my team, there’s no place I’d rather be.

What are you most excited about for this event?

I’m really excited to finally put all the work and dedication we put from our practices at parking lots into an actual performance for everyone to see and watch. Just thinking about it already gives me the butterflies, and I know it’ll be a rewarding experience.

How long have you been a member?

I’ve been a member since the beginning of this Winter quarter! The commitment for the Foundations dance teams is actually a quarter long, and they hold auditions for dance teams at the beginning of every quarter. Returners can still audition again, there’ll just be new sets every time.

How often does the group perform?

So far, we have one performance per quarter! For this quarter we have our showcase on WEDNESDAY MARCH 4, 2015 AT 8PM IN THE PALISADES ROOM IN CARNESALE COMMONS!! BE WHERE WE ARE!
What’s your favorite memory from living on the hill?

My favorite memory was spilling hot tea on myself at the dining hall. I called it T-Pain.

Leave a Reply

