Off the Record: Savannah Meares

image1
Studio 22 recently did an episode of their show Off the Record, where they featured up Savannah Meares, a third year Music History major and Music Industry minor.  She sat down with On the Hill to talk about some of her music inspirations and her own music, check it out here!

Via Studio22

So Savannah, how would you describe your genre of music?
It’s a combination of pop, jazz and country.

And who are your greatest musical inspirations?
I am very influenced by John Mayer, Dave Grohl, Sara Barellies, and The Beatles. John Mayer and Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters) are such talented and versatile musicians and songwriters. My style of singing and playing piano are very similar to Sara Bareilles and I see her as the kind of artist I might want to be someday. The Beatles, in my eyes, shaped the world of popular music and songwriting as we know it, so their massive body of work is definitely something I draw on for musical inspiration.

What is your favorite instrument to play?
I’m definitely most comfortable on piano, but I really enjoy playing the ukulele. It’s so cute and portable! And it seems to put a smile on everyone’s face.

How do you think your experiences at UCLA have shaped your music?
The music program at UCLA has given me a really solid basis in music theory and history that I never had before. I think these are invaluable tools that will serve me for the rest of my life. I’ve also made so many connections in the music program and have come to realize that that’s what this industry is all about!

What’s your next big project?
I have a show this Thursday at the Fowler Museum at 6pm. I’ve also been working on my first EP of all original songs for the past few months at Shadow Canyon Recording here in LA and it should be released this winter, so keep your eyes out for it on my website (www.savannahmeares.com)! You can find links to all of my social media there.

If you had to choose one song to describe you, what would it be?
That’s a tough one…. I love and relate to so many songs. Right now I’d say a combination of “Old Man” by Neil Young and “I Will Be Found (Lost at Sea)” by John Mayer describe me, but honestly they’d change from week to week.

Thank you for sitting with OTH!

Leave a Reply

